Professor Krishna P. Kaliappan

Krishna Kaliappan

Dr. Krishna P. Kaliappan
Department of Chemistry
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Powai, Mumbai 400 076, India

(O) +91-22-2576 7177, (R) + 91-22-2576 8177
(Fax) + 91-22-2576 7152, 2572 3480

Academic Qualification  
1990 M.Sc. (Organic Chemistry Specialization)School of Chemistry, Madurai Kamaraj University
1997 Ph.D Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
Positions Held and Present Position  
Apr. 1997 - Mar. 1999 Research Associate with Professor Peter E. Kundig
University of Geneva, Switzerland
Apr. 1999 - Mar. 2001 Research Associate with Professor Michael C. Pirrung
Duke University, USA.
Mar. 2001 - Feb. 2005 Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
March 2005 - January 2009 Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Feb 2009 - Professor
Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Oct 2012 - Dec 2015 Associate Dean (R & D)
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
June 2014 - Institute Chair Professor
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Jan 2016 - May 2018 Head
Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
May 2018 - May 2021 Dean, Faculty Affairs
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Awards and Honor
A.V. Rama Rao Foundation Lecture at JNCASR, Bengaluru (2018)
Prof. S. C. Bhattacharyya Award for Excellence in Pure Sciences at IIT Bombay (2017)
Juliot Visiting Professor at ESPCI, Paris (2016)
Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences (2016)
Professor C. N. R. Rao National Prize in Chemical Sciences (2015)
Advisory Board Member of "Chemistry An Asian Journal" (2014-)
Member-Synthesis Sub Committee-IUPAC, Organic and Biomolecular Division III (2014-)
Advisory Board Member of "Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry Journal" (2013-)
Chairman, ICOS 21, held at IIT Bombay (2016)
CRSI Bronze Medal (2013)
Excellence in Teaching Award (IIT Bombay-2011)
IIT Bombay Best Research Paper Award (2009)
Swarnajayanti Fellowship (2006-07)
B. M. Birla Science Prize for Chemistry (2006)
Vice President, RSC West India Section (2012-2014)
Professor S. Sivasubramaniam Endowment Lecture, Madurai Kamaraj University (2007)
Professor S. Swaminathan Endowment Lecture, University of Madras (2003)
DAE Young Scientist Research Grant Award (2002)
International Foundation for Science (Sweden) Research Grant Award (2002, 2004 & 2006)
BH Iyer Medal of Organic Chemistry, Department, IISc for the best Ph.D. Thesis (1997)
Awarded the Certificate of Merit from C.S.I.R. for being one among the top six candidates in Chemical Sciences in the Joint CSIR-UGC Test, 1990
T.P. Meenakshi Sundaram Prize (Gold Medal) from Madurai Kamaraj University in M.Sc (Chemistry)
Memberships and Fellowships of Societies
Elected Fellow : Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc) since 2016
Elected Fellow : Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC, London) since 2008
Member : Synthesis Sub Committee of IUPAC since 2014
Member : American Chemical Society since 1999
Life Member : Chemical Research Society of India since 2002
Member : NOST Council (2010-)